Wild forward and heavy favorite Kirill Kaprizov named finalist for Calder Trophy

The NHL named Minnesota Wild forward Kirill Kaprizov, Dallas Stars forward Jason Robertson and Carolina Hurricanes goaltender Alex Nedeljkovic as finalists for the Calder Memorial Trophy.

The award, which is presented to the league’s top rookie, is voted on by the Professional Hockey Writers Association. The winner will be announced as part of the 2021 NHL Awards either during the conference finals or Stanley Cup Final.

[brid video=”782822″ player=”23765″ title=”Projecting%20all%20the%20top%20NHL%20award%20winners” duration=”66″ description=”undefined” uploaddate=”2021-05-14″ thumbnailurl=”https://cdn.brid.tv/live/partners/17660/snapshot/782611.png” contentUrl=”https://cdn.brid.tv/live/partners/17660/streaming/782611/782611.m3u8″]

Kirill Kaprizov named finalist for Calder Trophy

Kaprizov, 24, led rookies in goals (27), points (51) and power-play goals (eight). His totals in goals, assists (24) and points served as records by a rookie in franchise history.

“Obviously, [winning] would make it a little bit easier, having such a tough season and leaving in the first round of the playoffs, obviously it would make things a little bit better,” Kaprizov said. “But honestly I’m the type of person that doesn’t really look for personal accolades. I’d much rather have the team win and have the team do better than my own personal gains.”


Robertson, 21, led rookies in assists (28) and even-strength points (39). He also had 17 goals, 45 points and a team-best plus-13 rating in 51 games this season.

Nedeljkovic, 25, posted a 15-5-3 record and tied for the NHL rookie lead in shutouts (three) with Ilya Sorokin of the New York Islanders. Nedeljkovic’s 1.90 goals-against average and .932 save percentage led all league goaltenders who played at least 20 games.

–Field Level Media