NHL news: Senators rebrand, Patrik Laine really on the block, and Awards Show 9/21

There’s been a lot of news dropping today, but here are just a few highlights. From the Ottawa Senators rebrand, to the announcement of the NHL Awards show set for Monday, 9/21.

Ottawa Senators reveal 2D logo

In a statement released by the Ottawa Senators, that read in part:

“It is time for the Senators to return to our roots,” said Mr. Eugene Melnyk, owner of the Ottawa Senators. “The fans of this great franchise have high expectations. We have heard from our fans, our partners and our players, and we have listened. It is time to return to our heritage, but in a bold, new manner. The Senators have a rich history in our community, and we are ready for the next chapter to begin.”  

The familiar two-dimensional profile of the Roman soldier makes its return, with gold trimming replacing the original logo’s red on the cape. The gold semicircle with laurel leaves, which anchors the logo, makes its return and increases its association with the letter “O”. The new logo replaces the modernized version of the logo that was first introduced prior to the 2007-08 season. A secondary logo will not be used for the 2020-21 season.

nhl news
Senators 2D Logo (Ottawa Senators)

Shockingly, Patrik Laine may really be traded

When Laine’s name first appeared on the TSN Trade Bait list, I almost dismissed it. Yes, it was intriguing but not really going to happen. Right?

Recently, Craig Custance noted in his latest that one executive said of Laine, “He seems disinterested at times.” Today, Elliotte Friedman added to the speculation on a radio interview. He believes that the Jets and Laine are not on the same page and he may not want to re-sign in the future.

If Laine gets traded, I expect a monster offer from the Montreal Canadiens. Look for Max Domi and a top defenseman to be sent the other way.

The NHL Awards Show

The Five remaining awards will be revealed on Monday, 9/21 starting at 6:30PM EST. Here’s the run down from the NHL’s media release.

To Be Revealed During “2020 NHL Awards presented by Las Vegas” (Finalists)

Calder Memorial Trophy (Quinn Hughes, Dominik Kubalik, Cale Makar)

Hart Memorial Trophy (Leon Draisaitl, Nathan MacKinnon, Artemi Panarin)

James Norris Memorial Trophy (John Carlson, Victor Hedman, Roman Josi)

Ted Lindsay Award (Leon Draisaitl, Nathan MacKinnon, Artemi Panarin)

Vezina Trophy (Connor Hellebuyck, Tuukka Rask, Andrei Vasilevskiy)