Predicting which superstars will win tonight’s prestigious NHL Awards

Tonight, the five remaining and most prestigious awards will be handed out. The festivities will begin at 6:30PM EST. Let’s take a look at each and try to predict the winners.

NHL Awards: Calder Memorial Trophy

Finalists: Quinn Hughes, Dominik Kubalik, Cale Makar

This is an easy one for me and likely every else. Cale Makar wins the Calder for Rookie of the year in a landslide of first place votes. On the strength of his 50 points in 57 games, this 21 year-old defenseman was amazing for the Avalanche.

Winner: Cale Makar

NHL Awards: Vezina Trophy

Finalists: Connor Hellebuyck, Tuukka Rask, Andrei Vasilevskiy

If I had a vote, I’d cast it for Andrei Vasilevskiy. However, I would be doing a disservice to the goalie that will win the award, Connor Hellebuyck. The Winnipeg Jets wouldn’t be anywhere without him. He led the league in shots against and saves. Hellebuyck even managed to lead the league in shutouts despite the barrage of rubber. Well deserved winner.

Winner: Connor Hellebuyck

nhl awards
Winnipeg Jets goaltender Connor Hellebuyck (Mandatory Credit: John E. Sokolowski-USA TODAY Sports)

NHL Awards: Ted Lindsay Award

Finalists: Leon Draisaitl, Nathan MacKinnon, Artemi Panarin

The MVP as voted by the players is a special one. However, there’s definitely a tip off as to who the winner might be. The NHLPA conducted polls with their members and two are worthy to note. Players were asked who the best forward is and if you needed to win one game who do you want on your team. The person that came in third in both those questions was Nathan MacKinnon.

Both Sidney Crosby and Connor McDavid were the top two in responses. Neither Draisaitl or Panarin came in the top 5. So I expect, MacKinnon on this one.

Winner: Nathan MacKinnon

NHL Awards: James Norris Memorial Trophy

Finalists: John Carlson, Victor Hedman, Roman Josi

This is not an easy one. If this was an award solely about points then there is no way I should be picking Victor Hedman. Both Josi and Carlson outscored him easily, but I am looking at the total package and he is the lynchpin for an awesome Lightning team that is in the Cup Final. That’s my pick.

Winner: Victor Hedman

NHL Awards
Kucherov and Hedman celebrate [DIRK SHADD | Tampa Bay Times]

NHL Awards: Hart Memorial Trophy

Finalists: Leon Draisaitl, Nathan MacKinnon, Artemi Panarin

Once again, if this was strictly about points, Leon Draisaitl is your winner. When you look at the three finalists only one stands out as the pure MVP of his team, and that is Artemi Panarin. Both the Oilers and Avalanche were considered playoff contenders coming into this season. Both were familiar and comfortable with their surroundings. Panarin on the other hand just signed a huge new deal and made the Rangers better the moment he stepped on the ice.

Winner: Artemi Panarin