NHL Awards: Connor McDavid; Adam Fox; Marc-Andre Fleury; and Kirill Kaprizov take top honors

The NHL handed out its major individual awards last night. Connor McDavid took home both the Hart Trophy and Ted Lindsay Award. Meanwhile, Marc-Andre Fleury won his first Vezina Trophy at the age of 36.

Two youngsters were front and center in the festivities. The Calder Trophy went to 25 year-old Kirill Kaprizov as best rookie and 23 year-old Adam Fox won the Norris Trophy for top defenseman.

Kirill Kaprizov wins Calder Trophy

Minnesota Wild forward Kirill Kaprizov beat out Dallas Stars forward Jason Robertson and Carolina Hurricanes goaltender Alex Nedeljkovic for the Calder Memorial Trophy.

Kaprizov, 24, led rookies in goals (27), points (51) and power-play goals (eight). His totals in goals, assists (24) and points served as records by a rookie in franchise history.

“I’ve enjoyed everything about the game, I enjoyed the atmosphere in the locker room. I enjoyed playing on the ice with my teammates,” Kaprizov told Patrick Kane who presented him with the award. “Big thank you to the team. Without them, none of this would be possible.”

Marc-Andre Fleury wins Vezina Trophy

Goaltenders Marc-Andre Fleury, Philipp Grubauer and Andrei Vasilevskiy were announced as the three finalists for the 2020-21 Vezina Trophy. When it was all said and done, the 36 year-old playing in his 17th season came out on top.

He was 26-10-0 with six shutouts, a .928 save percentage and a 1.98 goals-against average for the Vegas Golden Knights in the regular season. Fleury partnered with Robin Lehner to capture the William M. Jennings Trophy as the goaltenders on the squad that allowed the fewest goals in 2020-21.

“It’s such an honor to be among [the great goalies], and I think our team had such a commitment to play the right way and to play well defensively and blocking shots and making me look better,” Fleury told presenter Martin Brodeur. “I honestly think that for a goalie to win this, you still need a good team in front of you to help you out.”

Adam Fox wins Norris Trophy

New York Rangers sophomore defenseman Adam Fox was announced as the winner of the Norris Trophy. He beat out the Lightning’s Victor Hedman and Avalanche’s Cale Makar. He is only the second sophomore in NHL history to win the award, the first being Bobby Orr. Fox is also the first defenseman to win the honor without his team making the playoffs (or qualifying round).

Fox ranked first among defensemen in assists (42) and second in both points (47) and power-play assists (21) during his second NHL season. The 23-year-old is the Rangers’ first Norris Trophy finalist since 1996-97, when Hall of Famer Brian Leetch won the award for the second time.

“It’s definitely special to have my friends and family come see me play,” Fox told Brian Leetch who gave him the award. “It’s definitely a privilege to play for the Rangers have you present me the award.”

Connor McDavid wins Hart Trophy and Ted Lindsay Award

It was another big night for Edmonton Oilers superstars. Last season, Leon Draisaitl took home both the Hart and Ted Lindsay Award. One year later, he presented both awards to his teammate Connor McDavid.

McDavid, 24, won the Hart Trophy in 2016-17 and is the fifth player to win it multiple times before his 25th birthday, joining Wayne Gretzky, Bobby Orr, Gordie Howe and Alex Ovechkin.

He also won the Ted Lindsay award on two previous occasions (2016-17, 2017-18) and is the second straight Oilers player to receive the honor (Leon Draisaitl).

McDavid secured his third Art Ross Trophy after leading the league with 105 points (33 goals, 72 assists) in just 56 games — 21 more points than his nearest competitor, Oilers teammate Leon Draisaitl.

“My teammates are everything,” McDavid said. “I really wouldn’t be anywhere without them.”

-Field Level Media contributed to this article