NHL announces Selke and Lady Byng Finalists

Patrice Bergeron Selke
May 21, 2021; Boston, Massachusetts, USA; Boston Bruins center Patrice Bergeron (37) during the second period in game four of the first round of the 2021 Stanley Cup Playoffs against the Washington Capitals at TD Garden. Mandatory Credit: Bob DeChiara-USA TODAY Sports

Boston Bruins center and four-time winner Patrice Bergeron was named a finalist for the Selke Trophy on Tuesday for the 11th consecutive season.

Bergeron, who is mulling retirement, won the trophy in 2012, 2014, 2015 and 2017.

Bergeron is joined by Elias Lindholm of the Calgary Flames and Aleksander Barkov of the Florida Panthers as finalists for the award, given annually to the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game.

Barkov is the defending Selke winner while Lindholm is a first-time finalist. Lindholm could become the first player in Flames history to win it.

Bergeron led the NHL in face-off wins (991) for the seventh time in his career while posting the top win percentage (61.9) in the NHL.

Barkov is looking to become the seventh player in NHL history (second active, along with Bergeron) to win the award in consecutive seasons. Barkov ranked fourth among NHL forwards with a career-best +36 rating.

Lindholm posted a +61 rating in 82 games, behind only linemate Johnny Gaudreau (+64) as the NHL’s best in the past 34 years.

Lady Byng Finalists

jaccob slavin lady byng
Feb 24, 2021; Tampa, Florida, USA;Carolina Hurricanes defenseman Jaccob Slavin (74) shoots against the Tampa Bay Lightning during the second period at Amalie Arena. Mandatory Credit: Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

Carolina Hurricanes defenseman Jaccob Slavin looks to become the first repeat winner of the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy in more than a decade.

Slavin, Winnipeg Jets forward Kyle Connor and Minnesota Wild defenseman Jared Spurgeon were named the three finalists Wednesday for the 2021-22 award.

The Lady Byng is presented annually to the player who combines sportsmanship and fair play in conjunction with a high skill level. Ballots are submitted by members of the Professional Hockey Writers Association.

Tampa Bay Lightning forward Martin St. Louis was the last player to claim the Lady Byng in back-to-back seasons in 2009-10 and 2010-11.

The winners of the 2022 NHL Awards will be revealed during the Stanley Cup semifinals and Stanley Cup Final, with exact dates and times to be announced.

Slavin, 28, averaged a team-high 23:32 in ice time for a Carolina defense that surrendered a league-low 202 goals en route to the franchise’s first William M. Jennings Trophy. Slavin set career highs in assists (38) and points (42) and was assessed only five minor penalties in 79 games.

Connor, 25, is a first-time Lady Byng finalist who established career highs in goals (47), assists (46) and points (93) in 79 games. He finished fourth among NHL forwards in average time on ice (21:47) but received only four penalty minutes — fewest among the league’s top 100 scorers.

Spurgeon, 32, was runner-up for the award last season. The Wild captain had 40 points (10 goals, 30 assists) in 65 games and led Minnesota to the best record in franchise history (53-22-7, 113 points). He received just five minor penalties, his seventh time in 12 seasons with 10 or fewer PIM.

–Field Level Media