NHL announces King Clancy Memorial Trophy nominees

[sendtonews key=”IF7zHr7L” type=”player”]

The NHL announced all 32 nominees for the 2021-2022 King Clancy Memorial Trophy on Wednesday.

The Award is named after Frank “King” Clancy who served the game for decades as player, referee, coach, and manager. Since 1988, it has been presented by the NHL “to the player who best exemplifies leadership qualities on and off the ice and has made a noteworthy humanitarian contribution in his community.”

Here are this year’s candidates.

2021-22 King Clancy Memorial Trophy nominees:

The list is compiled after each team selects one player.

  • Anaheim Ducks: Ryan Getzlaf
  • Arizona Coyotes: Andrew Ladd
  • Boston Bruins: Nick Foligno
  • Buffalo Sabres: Jeff Skinner
  • Calgary Flames: Mikael Backlund
  • Carolina Hurricanes: Jordan Staal
  • Chicago Blackhawks: Connor Murphy
  • Colorado Avalanche: Nazem Kadri
  • Columbus Blue Jackets: Jack Roslovic
  • Dallas Stars: Jason Robertson
  • Detroit Red Wings: Alex Nedeljkovic
  • Edmonton Oilers: Darnell Nurse
  • Florida Panthers: Aleksander Barkov
  • Los Angeles Kings: Cal Petersen
  • Minnesota Wild: Matt Dumba
  • Montreal Canadiens: Jake Allen
  • Nashville Predators: Luke Kunin
  • New Jersey Devils: P.K. Subban
  • New York Islanders: Anders Lee
  • New York Rangers: Chris Kreider
  • Ottawa Senators: Nick Holden
  • Philadelphia Flyers: Scott Laughton
  • Pittsburgh Penguins: Bryan Rust
  • San Jose Sharks: Matt Nieto
  • Seattle Kraken: Jaden Schwartz
  • St. Louis Blues: Ryan O’Reilly
  • Tampa Bay Lightning: Victor Hedman
  • Toronto Maple Leafs: Wayne Simmonds
  • Vancouver Canucks: Bo Horvat
  • Vegas Golden Knights: Max Pacioretty
  • Washington Capitals: Garnet Hathaway
  • Winnipeg Jets: Josh Morrissey

Note: List via NHL Media Site.

Pekka Rinne was the 2020-21 King Clancy winner

Last season, Nashville Predators’ goalie Pekka Rinne took home the honor. He was the first Predators player to receive the award.

Rinne was one of three finalists alongside the New Jersey Devils’ P.K. Subban and the San Jose Sharks’ Kurtis Gabriel.

Rebecca King, the Predators’ vice president of community relations, said in a statement that “everything Pekka does comes from the heart. Bringing joy to others is what he is perhaps most passionate about. He is the most humble and kind-hearted person you will ever meet, and his connection with everyone he comes across is so incredibly genuine.”

Rinne, who has spent his entire 15-year NHL career with the Predators, has done the bulk of his community work through the 365 Pediatric Cancer Fund, which he and former teammate Shea Weber founded. The NHL donated $25,000 to the 365 Fund in connection with Rinne receiving the King Clancy award.