NHL announces Jack Adams Award finalists and Award dates

The New York Rangers head coach Gerard Gallant is looking to claim his second coach of the year honor. Gallant, along with Andrew Brunette of the Florida Panthers and Darryl Sutter of the Calgary Flames are the finalists for the NHL’s 2021-22 Jack Adams Award

Voted on by members of the NHL Broadcasters’ Association, the annual honor recognizes the head coach who has “contributed the most to his team’s success.”

The winners of the 2022 NHL Awards will be revealed during the conference finals and Stanley Cup Final, with the exact dates and times to be announced.

Jack Adams Award Finalists

gerard gallant
Feb 1, 2022; New York, New York, USA; New York Rangers head coach Gerard Gallant reacts after a call during the third period against the Florida Panthers at Madison Square Garden. Mandatory Credit: Vincent Carchietta-USA TODAY Sports

Gallant, 58, is a finalist for the third time with his third different team, having won the award with Vegas in 2017-18 and finished second with Florida in 2015-16. He guided the Rangers (52-24-6, 110 points) to their best record since capturing the Presidents’ Trophy in 2014-15.

Brunette, 48, was named the interim head coach on Oct. 29 and guided the Panthers (58-18-6, 122 points) to their first Presidents’ Trophy and a franchise-record 13-game win streak (March 29-April 23). He is looking to become the first Panthers coach to win the award.

Sutter, 63, is a finalist for the second time — 18 years after his third-place finish in 2003-04 during his first coaching stint with Calgary. The Flames improved from 26-27-3 in 2020-21 to 50-21-11 this season. Sutter’s brother, Brian, won the award with the St. Louis Blues in 1990-91.

Jack Adams Award betting odds

According to Vegas Insider, Darryl Sutter is a slim favorite to win it at +200 with Gerard Gallant and Andrew Brunette tied at +300.

Darryl Sutter (Calgary)50-21-11 (1st)+200
Gerard Gallant (N.Y. Rangers)52-24-6 (2nd)+300
Andrew Brunette (Florida)58-18-6 (1st)+300
Vegas Insider

Sutter is rightfully the favorite to win thanks to a strong regular season leading to a Pacific Division Title.

Brunette has done a wonderful job stepping us from his assistant coach role to head coach after Joel Quenneville resigned. Of course, Brunette inherited a 7-0-0 team that was already a top pick to win the Stanley Cup.

Of course, the Rangers were projected to be a fringe wild card team but finished second in the Metropolitan Division. His steady hand has guided a young team to an amazing season.

“With Turk, it’s never about what we can’t do. It’s always about what we can do if we put our minds to it,” Chris Kreider said about his coach. “You don’t know what that means to a group.” 

NHL releases Award Dates

The NHL’s media site also released the dates for when individual awards will be announced beginning on June 1 through June 7.

  • 6/1: Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award
  • 6/2: Jack Adams Award
  • 6/3: Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy
  • 6/4: Willie O’Ree Community Hero Award presented by MassMutual
  • 6/5: Frank J. Selke Trophy
  • 6/6: Lady Byng Memorial Trophy
  • 6/7: King Clancy Memorial Trophy

The NHL will hold a one-hour live show on Tuesday, June 21 at 7 PM ET to announce the winners of the Hart Memorial Trophy, Vezina Trophy, James Norris Memorial Trophy, Calder Memorial Trophy, and the Ted Lindsay Award.

It will air on ESPN in the U.S. and on Sportnet and TVA in Canada.

On that show, the three finalists for the Jim Gregory General Manager of the Year Award will be announced with the winner revealed at the NHL Draft on July 7.

–Field Level Media contributed to this article.