Leon Draisaitl MVP, and Ted Lindsay Award winner, plus all the other winners

The NHL awarded their five remaining trophies, and also their biggest. Up for grabs were the Rookie of the Year, Goalie of the Year, Defenseman of the Year, MVP, and NHLPA Outstanding Player of the Year.

What was really cool is the NHL let former Edmonton Oilers present the awards since the league is in their bubble. Let’s get to it.

Calder Trophy (Rookie of the Year): Cale Makar

Cale Makar took home the honors as the 2020 Rookie of the Year. Wayne Gretzky presented the award, virtually of course to Makar. That’s funny because the Great One, never won that award.

Ted Lindsay Award (Most Outstanding Player as voted by NHLPA): Leon Draisaitl

Mark Messier presented this award and it went to Leon Draisaitl who was an absolute beast this past season. Leon thanked his teammates for their support as well as family, friends, and the City of Edmonton.

Vezina Trophy (Goalie of the Year): Connor Hellebuyck

nhl awards
Connor Hellebuyck wins Vezina (Mandatory Credit: John E. Sokolowski-USA TODAY Sports)

This award was obviously presented by former Oilers great goalie, Grant Fuhr. The winner and first Winnipeg Jets goalie to ever win this award is Connor Hellebuyck. He truly was deserving as he saw more rubber than any goalie in the NHL and still managed to lead the league in shutouts.

James Norris Trophy (Defenseman of the Year): Roman Josi

Three time winner, Paul Coffey presented this award and that’s one hell of a defenseman to do so. He was a monster for the Oilers and just as good for the Penguins to boot. This year’s winner is Roman Josi and he was in awe of receiving the award from such a legend. Josi was the second highest scoring blue-liner in the NHL this season with 65 points. This is his first Norris.

Hart Trophy (MVP): Leon Draisaitl

Wayne Gretzky won this award a staggering 9 times so it was only fitting he presented it. If you missed it earlier, this was accidentally leaked today and the winner is Leon Draisaitl. The 24 year-old is the first player from Germany to win the award and Leon was proud of helping the game grow in his home country.