Latest projections for NHL Award winners this summer

The Daily Goal Horn projected the top NHL award winners at the end of the regular season. Here’s an update based on the latest nominations that have come out to date

2021 Top NHL Award Winners Predictions

There are several major awards not determined by points like the Art Ross Trophy which already belongs to Connor McDavid. Or like the Rocket Richard Trophy going to Auston Matthews for leading the league in goals. Here’s my prediction on who will win some of the top NHL awards this summer.

King Clancy Trophy: PK Subban

Nominees for this award are PK Subban (NJD), Pekka Rinne (NSH), and Kurtis Gabriel (SJS)

Mark Messier Leadership Award (Best Leader): Mark Stone, Vegas Golden Knights

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy (Perseverance and Dedication to hockey): Oskar Lindblom, Philadelphia Flyers

This is an easy and most deserving winner to pick. Oskar Lindblom battled back from bone cancer. A fight that began on December 10th, 2019 and ended when he returned for Game 6 of the Playoffs last season. He finished this season with 14 points in 50 games.

Jim Gregory GM of the Year: Bill Zito, Florida Panthers

Selke Trophy (Best Defensive Forward): Aleksander Barkov, Florida Panthers

Nominees: Patrice Bergeron (BOS), Aleksander Barkov (FLA), and Mark Stone (VGK)

Lady Byng Trophy (Gentlemanly Player): Auston Matthews

auston matthews lady byng
Apr 28, 2021; Montreal, Quebec, CAN; Toronto Maple Leafs center Auston Matthews (34) celebrates his goal against the Montreal Canadiens with teammates left wing Nick Foligno (71) and center Mitchell Marner (16) during the first period at Bell Centre. Mandatory Credit: Jean-Yves Ahern-USA TODAY Sports

Nominees: Auston Matthews (TOR), Jacob Slavin (CAR), and Jared Spurgeon (MIN)

Originally I had Artemi Panarin as winning this award. The Rangers leading scorer registered 58 points in just 42 games. Panarin’s 1.38 points per game was third highest in the league this season. His six penalty minutes are among the lowest for top point getters. Yet somehow, he was not even considered for the Lady Byng Trophy.

How?!!! I don’t know? Maybe the PHWA felt that two minute minor he was assessed after being body slammed by Tom Wilson to end his season was a bridge too far. This one is an absolute head scratcher. Since he’s not up for the award, I believe Auston Matthews will win it.

Jack Adams Award (Best Coach): Rod Brind’Amour, Carolina Hurricanes

Calder Trophy (Rookie of the Year): Kirill Kaprizov, Minnesota Wild

Nominees: Kirill Kaprizov (MIN), Alex Nedeljkovic (CAR), Jason Robertson (DAL)

Vezina Trophy (Best Goaltender): Marc-Andre Fleury, Vegas Golden Knights

marc andre fleury wins
Feb 22, 2021; Denver, Colorado, USA; Vegas Golden Knights goaltender Marc-Andre Fleury (29) in the first period against the Colorado Avalanche at Ball Arena. Mandatory Credit: Isaiah J. Downing-USA TODAY Sports

Nominees: Marc-Andre Fleury (VGK), Andrei Vasilevskiy (TBL), and Phillip Grubauer (COL)

My original pick remains the same. I know everyone thinks Andrei Vasilevskiy should win this one easy, but I disagree. Marc-Andre Fleury’s .927 SV% and 2.04 GAA are among the league’s best. He recorded five shutouts and moved into third all-time on the NHL wins list. He deserves it this season.

Norris Trophy (Best Defenseman): Victor Hedman, Tampa Bay Lightning

This award should go to Adam Fox of the New York Rangers, but the old boy’s club voting won’t have the intestinal fortitude to give him enough first place votes. No Norris winner has ever missed the playoffs, ergo why this goes to the second best defenseman in the NHL this season instead.

Hart Trophy Award (MVP): Connor McDavid, Edmonton Oilers

McDavid Draisaitl
Apr 7, 2021; Ottawa, Ontario, CAN; Edmonton Oilers center Connor McDavid (97-center of back row) celebrates with team his goal scored in the third period against the Ottawa Senators at the Canadian Tire Centre. Mandatory Credit: Marc DesRosiers-USA TODAY Sports

There isn’t even a question why McDavid wins this…Auston Matthews will get some votes but this is a no contest.

Ted Lindsay Award (Outstanding Player as selected by NHLPA): Connor McDavid, Edmonton Oilers

Nominees: Connor McDavid (EDM), Sidney Crosby (PIT), and Auston Matthews (TOR)

There’s a chance Crosby wins this one, but I am sticking with McDavid.