Bruins’ Patrice Bergeron sets record winning Selke Trophy for fifth time

patrice bergeron selke trophy
Apr 28, 2022; Boston, Massachusetts, USA; Boston Bruins center Patrice Bergeron (37) reacts with left wing Jake DeBrusk (74) after scoring a goal during the second period against the Buffalo Sabres at TD Garden. Mandatory Credit: Bob DeChiara-USA TODAY Sports

On Sunday, the NHL announced that Boston Bruins captan Patrice Bergeron is the winner of Frank J. Selke Trophy for top defensive forward. This is a record fifth time for the 36 year-old center.

Bergeron, who is a three-time all-star was tied with former Montreal Canadiens standout Bob Gainey, who won the award four times from 1977-81.

Bergeron previously won the award in 2011-12, 2013-14, 2014-15 and 2016-17.

Patrice Bergeron wins Selke Trophy

“It’s definitely an honor,” Bergeron said. “I think I’m humbled, that’s the first word that comes to mind. It is an individual award but obviously you can’t get any of those without the help of your teammates. I’ve said that in my acceptance speech, there’s so many people to thank and there’s a reason why. Been fortunate to play on great teams and win five Selkes and yeah, it goes to them obviously. As I said, it’s humbling. It’s the only award that I have.”

Bergeron led the NHL in faceoff percentage (61.9 percent) and faceoffs won (991), while finishing second in faceoffs taken (1,600). He ranked second among Bruins forwards in blocked shots (45).

He finished third on the team in points with 65 (25 goals, 40 assists) in helping the Bruins reach the first round of the Stanley Cup Playoffs.

The award, voted on by the Professional Hockey Writers Association, was presented to Bergeron by Doug Jarvis, a 1984 winner with the Washington Capitals.

“I want to thank the Bruins fans, you guys are incredible,” Bergeron said. “Thanks for giving us the extra jump we need some nights. And also to my wife (Stephanie Bertrand) and three beautiful kids, Zach, Victoria and Noah. Thanks for always being there for me no matter what.”

2021-22 Frank J. Selke Trophy Voting (top five vote-getters)
Pts (1st-2nd-3rd-4th-5th)
1. Patrice Bergeron, Boston, 1798 (160-20-11-0-3)
2. Elias Lindholm, Calgary, 878 (21-46-50-28-12)
3. Aleksander Barkov, Florida, 746 (10-52-40-22-16)
4. Ryan O’Reilly, St. Louis, 415 (1-16-28-39-36)
5. Anthony Cirelli, Tampa Bay, 385 (0-28-19-22-28)

–Field Level Media